Milestones

My girlfriend was kind enough to loan me her two year old son today.  She dropped him off wearing this cuter-than-cute Thomas sweater she had made for her first son, eight (?) years ago. 

 

He was perfect and entertained my 2 girls who were home to play with him.  I taught him to baa not only when holding the Lego sheep, but also when he touches his mommy’s knitting.  He has the cutest baa!!!  Really he was perfect, I don’t know what she was talking about!

As she was leaving, we talked about our youngest children growing up and out growing the handknits.  Packing away the baby knits?   Difficult to do and definitely a milestone.

Then while out today, I finally broke down. 

 

See em? On top of the Harmonia’s Rings.  Uh huh. Another milestone.  Reading glasses.  It’s my turn.  There are times that I would like to see a little more clearly, like lace on size 0 needles or heaven forbid, removing a kid’s splinter (can’t do that at an arm’s distance!)  But I don’t want to wear them all the time.  And as luck would have it, since I am at the top of this slippery slope, the only ones this store had were pink with bling.  So they are mine and in my favorite color.   I have reading glasses.

The lady behind the counter told me eventually I would purchase multi-packs and place them all around the house.   Seriously?  How many pairs do you have?

And lastly, remember I said I’d be casting on a New Year’s sock, well, here it is.  Mostly, some of it is hiding.  I thought it only fitting to break out a Rare Gem in honor of the Blue Moon New Year! 

 

It’s a beauty, huh!   Look at those perfect stripes!  Stay tuned for the details.  To quote my bff,  “All shall be revealed in the fullness of time.”

Careful of those milestones, they sneak up when you aren’t lookin!’

8 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. This is so funny because when you picking the piece of straw out of my Twinkle cowl, I almost made a comment about needing glasses. I beat you to the punch, though. I began using them a few months ago for certain knitting projects.

    He really is soooooo cute!

  2. Cute reading glasses. My eye doctor told me one perk of being so nearsighted is that I won’t need reading glasses for awhile. Super cool rare gem colored sock! I can’t wait to get my rare gems from the sale (I went a little crazy with the rare gem sale).

  3. ACK! Reading glasses!!! Yeah, I so totally get this.

    Love your Harmonia’s Ring and the loverly STR Rare Gem! BTW, my order went out today-hope to have it by Friday!

  4. Great rare gem! Can’t wait to see the rest of the sock. I like the glasses too. Buying stuff that’s pink is self defense at my house. None of the boys will touch it if it’s pink :-)

Leave a Reply

