Spin Along

I had my first (in person) spin along this week!  My partner-in-fiber Pat came over with her twin wheel and we actually did some spinning together!

We ordered our Lendrum wheels (after much research!) the very same day and they made the journey across the country together.  We have been experimenting with fibers and plying and have lots of show and tells but this was the first time we actually spun in the same room!  It was great fun.

 

 

I was working on my creamy merino that I got at the Still River Mill when I dropped some fiber off in November.  I am usually a color girl but for some reason the purity of the natural color really sings to me. 

 

It is 140 grams and somewhere in between the prewashed 550 yards and the post wash 460 ish yards.  It really puffed out and shrunk up after its soaking and whacking.  It prpably needs to be a shawl.  But it is simply too pretty to knit right now so I have declared it eye-candy and placed it in my yarn bowl.

So… what’s next up?  Something with some color.  Oh, how about this BFL I picked up at Rhinebeck from Briar Rose.  It’s really fun and drafts like a dream.  The Briar Rose colors are really beautiful and thanks to the new fiber spreadsheet, none made it into my cart this morning.  (Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing?) For now, this one wants to be a 3-ply.

And so knitting doesn’t feel left out, there was an emergency hat.  My son has decided that the Superbowl is a holiday worthy of special gear.  His paper hat representing HIS Superbowl team, the New Orleasns Saints (Patriots bowed out early but he recoved to pick a new team) wasn’t working out how he planned.  Good thing Mom’s a knitter.  Only the embroidered or duplicate stitched fleur-de-lis remains.  Not bad for a day of knitting…

I have until Sunday.  I think I can do it. 

Who is your pick for the Superbowl?  And any cool munchies or appetizers I need to add to our menu?