A Public Service Announcement

1. Gauge matters.

2. Needle size matters.

Pay attention to these two factors.  Number 2 changes number 1.

Ask me how I know.

I have 2 projects going right now and both seem to have issues with both.

Carry on.

2 responses to “A Public Service Announcement

  1. Evidently, stress level also matters. I just knit the second mitt of a pair — same needles, same yarn, etc… and it’s a good half an inch shorter than the first one. I blame my stress levels of late.

  2. So true! I’m knitting on 2 hats right now for the second time. One hat I grabbed the wrong needle and was surprised how much smaller the tam was than I was expecting, until I pulled out my dpn’s to finish the crown decreases and realized my mistake :-( The other hat must be a tension thing. It’s so much smaller than the first 8 I knit of this pattern. It’s stockinette primarily, so I ripped and added stitches. Imagine the time an actual gauge swatch would have saved me!

Leave a Reply

