Lopi Week

I now declare the rest of the week Lopi Week.  I will wear my new Lopi sweater and maybe my old Lopi sweater all week.  Girl crush on Lopi.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It all started in the Fall of ’83 when I moved into my college dorm.  As soon as I met the older girls on the hall, I just knew I wanted in on the fun.  A girl named Laura operated a little yarn business right out of her room and she had all the fixings for icelandic wool sweaters.  So, I learned how to knit as I went along.  I had no idea that making an icelandic wool sweater was an outrageous first project.  As any 18 year old, I was fearless.  My parents were thrilled the first time I came home from my private college with my newly acquired knitting skills!

And now the cranberry sweater (a bit tight with its tad tight gauge) has been worn by not only me but also 2 of my 4 children.  Looking at it now, I can see the many lessons I have learned since, like gauge, weaving in ends, stranding loosely, casting on and binding off loosely, grafting and I am sure others like pattern reading, sizing and choosing colors.

The brown lopi was actually my third sweater that year, but the second, a black, grey and teal is in a bin awaiting mending after an unfortunate run in with moths several years back.  I wear this brown one every year and have had a hankering for a new lopi sweater for several years.  I have collected and researched patterns but had never chosen one until this fall.

The stars must have aligned themselves.  The pattern was a no brainer.  I had the Best of Lopi book and had long admired Sigridur.  Then, Debbi and I had a great visit to WEBS the day before the Rhinebeck trip.  Steve must have known of my Lopi hankering as he had a shelf full of closeout Lopi in just my colors.  (I think he was happy I made off with so many!)

And really, almost like magic, I had a lopi sweater!  I knit it on the soccer sidelines this year and will proudly wear it there next year.  But first I will proudly and warmly wear it this week.

Rumor has it there may be similar lopi crushes across the country?  Anyone?

4 responses to “Lopi Week

  1. The finale is of course my favorite, but I am REALLY impressed by your 1st one – you dove in to knitting head first!

  2. I think it’s a rite of passage in college to try something creative like knitting. It was crochet for my group of friends :-) I still have the god-awful afghan I made! But there was a girl in my dorm, who was also in my major, who picked up knitting and made an Icelandic sweater. Actually my LYS currently takes phone orders and delivers to UNH twice a month! I think it’s fantastic that you still have your first sweater.

  3. I am totally wearing my lopi sweater today! (I also really want to make a second one but there are so many projects already in the queue…)

  4. I’ve had a pattern sitting in my closet for YEARS…and have never made it…….someday! Happy Thanksgiving…

Leave a Reply

