The Second Day of Christmas

One thing that has become a tradition here at our house is the Gingerbread House that magically shows up each year.  Neil and Ellie Claus are on the ball!

You have never seen such a perfect gingerbread house that is as tasty and fresh as it is pretty!

       

My dear ole friend, Neil,  from my before-the-kids, working days on Beacon Hill began sending this holiday treat to the kids years ago.  How many, I can’t even remember.  Neil and I worked together for years and he was a mentor, friend, and even father figure.  His advice got me out of some pickles and surely saved me from myself on more than one occasion.  We had some great times together and I still carry lessons with me today that I learned from him.  He met all the kids when they were babies but admittedly it has been too many years since we last saw each other.  (I’ll take the heat for that .)

But, the gingerbread house usually appears here about the time of his birthday so we usually reconnect annually in December.  It is also a great time for me to tell my kids stories about Neil and when we worked together as we devour the holiday treat.

Neil has 4 kids of his own and 5 (I think?) grandkids and yet takes the time every year to remember my kids.  When I count my blessings every year at Christmastime, you can be sure that Neil is on that list.

Love ya Neilie!