Colorful Pursuits

I just couldn’t find the right colors for the baby hat I wanted to make.  Timely encouragement by the Kangaroo Dyer sent me on the right path!

I had dyed only once before, last year at sock camp with Tina, and was timid to say the least.  But one little ball of yarn, split in two, couldn’t be that hard, right?

So my green and blue McCormack food coloring came out, along with this book and a few common household items.  I went back in my mind to dye class and decided to pretend Tina was right there with me.  And voila!

I did it!

I couldn’t wait to see it knit up.  I cast on as soon as the yarn was dry and 2 days later this!

There’s a little baby who will look adorable in this hat in the fall!

And these other baby knits will meet their baby in a few weeks.  The first-time mom was thrilled! 

Oh, how I love babies!

4 thoughts on “Colorful Pursuits

  1. That is gorgeous. Love the little sheep.
    Reminds me of a sweater I used to make for babies that had a large furry sheep on the front. I will have to look for the pattern now.

  2. OMG! I love that hat!!! What is the pattern? I have a friend that raises sheep and recently had a baby. She would love it. Nice job dyeing the yarn. The colors are just right.

  3. Pingback: …but then you already knew that… | Goddess Knitters

Leave a Reply

