My Valentine To You

Valentine’s Week is coming to a close now.  I thought to celebrate I would have my first blog contest.

I am going to give away one of my sock patterns, either Northampton Beat Socks or Socks, With Love and a skein of Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock (light or medium depending on pattern).

To enter, just tell me the best part of your Valentine’s Week.  I could use a few good stories.   I’ll pick a random winner at the end of the week!

Have a great week!  Kids are on school vacation so it’ll be a crazy one here!

 

14 thoughts on “My Valentine To You

  1. It’s always a fun week because my birthday falls near Valentine’s Day! DH took me up north for an overnight ski trip and a tele lesson. Very fun and romantic! Both patterns are awesome. Thanks for the chance to win one. 🙂

  2. My best story……I am not a big Valentine’s Day/Week Fan….my son (yes your daughter’s asst coach) however, who very rarely gets to see his girlfriend due to school issues had a date nite planned for Friday evening with dinner at the Chop House – very nice…..when I arrive home on Friday there was a beautiful bouquet of flowers in blue/white (her favorite colors) on the table with a note – Happy Not Valentine’s Day Flowers…..cute…she was surprised…..

  3. I had to work on Valentine’s Day this year, so I took my boyfriend out to eat on Wed to make it up to him. We live together so we spend a lot of time together, but we don’t have a lot of money right now, so eating out is a big treat. We had decided to go to this all you can eat Thai & Sushi place his friends at school keep talking about. It was a small luxury for us, but I was still pretty surprised when he got all gussied up for the occasion. He said he had to look nice for his date, which somehow just melts my heart even after we have lived together for more than 2 years.

  4. My best part of the week was having a couple of days at home with nothing to do but be with my hubby. It seems we so rarely get time at home just the two of us and it was a joy to work out two days in a row with nothing but him and knitting in the plans. And a light touch of snow on the ground didn’t hurt either!

  5. I have spent the past week and a half taking care of my mom who fell and broke her hip. For Valentines Day I baked shortbread cookies (we call them Pattie Doones) and dipped them in melted dark chocolate. We had them for dinner!! It cheered us up.

  6. My hubby was in Reno a few weeks ago visiting family and he would call to taunt me about how he was eating a burger at In n’ Out (my fav!). For my Valentine dinner (which was on the 19th since I had to work late on the 14th) he made me a burger and homemade french fries and put them in In N’ Out wrappers he had taken from there when he was in Reno. It was so sweet (and the burger and fries were super yummy). I took a pic. Let’s see if I can get it to show up here.
    </

  7. Well, I did make a heart-shaped chocolate cake for Lil Emp, along with a half dozen cupcakes. He got to wake up to that in the morning and I realized I had no treats for his class! We went to a local bakery that only had 29 thumbprint cookies left. He has 36 kids in his class. We bought a few extra large-sized cookies and the teacher was left to figure out how best to divide them! That’s what I get for not planning ahead!

  8. I work as a special education teacher in a middle school and the best Valentine I received was a handmade heart (colored green and orange) from a beautiful little girl with Down’s. I had a not very good week but that really cheered me up!

  9. My husband was sick for Valentine’s Day, but still managed to send me flowers at work. I rewarded him with a batch of cookies from the first install of the CookieA club!

  10. The most interesting part of my week was seeing a play written by a former student of the summer theater school I taught at 20 years ago. She is now a talented, accomplished adult, and the play was a moving, well-constructed piece about the genocide in Darfur. She was in Chicago for the weekend, and I got to see her, which was lovely.

  11. For Valentine’s I usually just try to fill my heart with love for anything and everything. This year, I was charmed by what my student assistant did for his new girlfriend. We live on the West Coast of Northern California, and for Valentine’s day, he woke his girlfriend up really early and drove her about forty minutes West to see the sunrise. It was foggy and rainy that morning, and of course the sun rises in the East. He said she really enjoyed it anyway. I thought it was just so sweet in a fumbly new love sort of way! Hurray for young hearts!

  12. My husband and I always seem to work on Valentine’s Day, but it is the day we got engaged 7 years ago so we always try to do something together to celebrate. This year we just went to dinner and came home to catch up on the few shows we both watch. Nothing fancy just time together.

Leave a Reply

